So, I almost posted a stupid, ironically self-pitying status update on Facebook complaining that one of my NPR podcasts, which I listened to while cooking, was a repeat. “Poor me,” I composed in my head, “why can’t these people put out an original hour of thought-provoking audio every week? Don’t they know what they’re doing to me?”

Then, my budding spiritual self said, almost out loud, “I should cool it. Maybe it’s meant for me right now. Or, maybe it’s meant for someone else. Just chill.”

The podcast in question was NPR’s Ted Radio Hour. In the episode in question, the discussion was about the power of brands. (Something that I think most people who’d want to read this would agree with me seems slightly distasteful.) I listened, mostly because the speakers were good and I enjoy an intelligent idea presented well.

All of this is interesting because, recently, I’ve started thinking about how I’d celebrate Imbolc (the next Druidic celebration in the calendar). I wasn’t interested in druidry long before I realized that there seems to be a real schism in reconstructionist paganism between the camps of ‘must be authentic’ and ‘it can be updated.’ And, with my fascination for pantheons I know better than the Celtic one, I suppose I’ve always felt that the intention was more important than the form.

Hearing one of the speaker’s, Rory Sutherland’s segment, I thought about  this. His argument seemed to be that nothing is more or less ‘authentic’ than anything else.

It seemed to be, at the moment when I needed it, a message that (for me), intention is going to be the important thing. Which brings us to Imbolc.

My Imbolc Plans
None. I don’t have any.

Sure, I want to do something with the kids, so that we can talk about why it’s an interesting or important time. (Brigid’s crosses, anyone?) And I want to do something this is somehow more. In the way that my Alban Arthan was more than a normal day. But what, exactly will happen? I don’t know.

I’m very aware, especially after my experience with Alban Arthan, that whatever I do will set the tone for celebrations in years to come.

I’m happy right now with my ‘hedge druidry,’ which may not yet be something I decided on. At the very least, I’d like to be able to invite older children to one day take part in this with me. So, there has to be room in whatever I do that I could imagine sharing the ceremony. (I shall not be skyclad! Not only because I’ll probably observe it with Hofgaard, and he’s in a public park.)

So, for now, I’m looking at the liturgy the Solitary Druid Fellowship apparently created and promptly abandoned. (I would reall like to find out what was going on there.) It’s interesting, and it will again probably form the basis of my celebration, but each time I look at their materials, I’m aware of a vocabulary shortfall.

Maybe I’ll start putting together a druidic dictionary. It would help me, at least.

Leave a Reply

