image

I’ve been Mr Barefoot in my neighborhood (at least in good weather) ever since reading Born To Run. It was never a druid thing, though maybe the tendency to move towards a perceived ‘Ur-self’ is something that contents the two.

Now though, I enjoy being barefoot for the unique connection it offers to nature… As well as for the realization that nothing is quite so uncomfortable as human-built environments. There’s something profound for me in the idea that we need shoes to protect us from the environments we build for ourselves.

Recently, whenever I make my way across a less-than-pleasant surface, I can’t help but wonder if my homunculus is growing, if the extra sensory perception is changing how I perceive the world.

I like to think that I’m changing-growing-in response to a conscious decision that I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

