So, there’s something I’ve been meaning to write about, but it’s one of those thoughts that stick with you, but the longer you think about it, the harder it is to nail down.

It began with the omens I was given during my Solstice non-ritual, and even though I’ve written the omens doen, it’s hard for me now to say why I interpreted them the way I did, but that evening, it seemed clear to me that one of the things I was being told was that I’m going about some things the wrong way.

Something you should know about me: I love the idea that I can achieve what I set my mind to. I’m thirty-six years old, but still learning, getting in better shape every year, I’m glad that I’m a persion in motion and not in stasis.

But, the omens, in that moment, seemed to make it clear that I needed to re-adjust the way I approached all of that. It’s true that I looked at my day as a list of things I had to do, being as tough a taskmaster towards myself as any boss could be.

It seemed to me that I was being told that I need to approach my goals more playfully than I have been. I need to look at the things I’m working on as things I want to get done, as opposed to things I have to get done.

In the time since the Solstice, I have been trying to change the way I approach my goals. So far, I can’t report much progress. Fitness seems to be one of those things that have to be done.

For now, I’m experimenting with two things: refusing to allow myself to dread the things I want to do, either I do them, or I don’t. (That’s meant a lot less dilly-dally in the last several days.) Also, I’m trying to reward myself for working out. . . with more workouts. (I’ve discovered I have this thing for doing Burpees. I’m rewarding myself for doing my usual core training with doing as many of them as I can. For now, it works.)

Leave a Reply

