I’m starting a new book, The Secret Life of Trees, by Colin Tudge and I keep finding parts I want to except here. This one is from the end if the preface:

So this book presents it’s not as it is often presented, as a tribute to human cleverness and power, but truly and spirit of reverence. I like the idea (I found that some people don’t, but I do) that each of us might aspire to be a connoisseur of nature, and conniseurship implies a combination of knowledge on the one hand and love on the other, each enhancing the other.

Is it any wonder that I’m excited to read more? I love both the way he presents science, and also the idea of being a  connoisseur of nature.

Leave a Reply

